Back from vacation

Hope you enjoyed the holidays. I went back to work today for the first time in two weeks and the place looked eerily familiar.

I’ll post a new “Learn More” installment early next week, but thought I’d restart LibraryStream now by joining in on a meme popular with other bloggers this week: a personal reading recap of 2007. Here’s my freshly compiled statistical list.

Books read in 2007: 62
Non-fiction: 53
Fiction: 5
Other (drama/graphic): 4
Male authors: 48
Female authors: 15
Most read months: January & February (9)
Least read month: June (2)
Book reviews published: 29

I’ve kept a personal reading list since 1993, and enjoy the list of titles far more than these dry numbers. Still, the numbers proved 2007 to be among my least-read years. That’s probably because so many other interests caught my attention. Photography, cycling, and social web projects ate away at precious reading time. I’m fascinated by far too many subjects to trim my non-fiction habit, so it was fiction that took the biggest hit when reading time got squeezed.

The low number of female authors on my reading list this year surprises me, too. It’s not normally that lopsided and probably has more to do with pure chance than anything else. The sex of the author means less to me than the topic and writing style.

In a previous post I showed you my shelf portrait of some of the books I appreciated last year. I won’t/can’t pick a favorite.

Leave a Reply

