A Shelf Portrait

These are some of the books that I enjoyed this year: a little humor, history, fiction, and science — with a little biking, birding, wilderness, and library stuff thrown in. I’m a voracious reader so I had to leave a lot out. What books remained aren’t necessarily the “best”, but they became part of me.

What would be in your shelf portrait this year?

3 Responses to A Shelf Portrait

  1. Amy says:

    Syrup by Maxx Barry
    Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
    Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer
    In an Instant: A Family’s Journey of Love and Healing by Lee Woodruff and Bob Woodruff
    Fair Game: My Life as a Spy, My Betrayal by the White House by Valerie Plame Wilson

  2. Steve Campion says:

    Interesting. I’ve never heard of Syrup before; I”l have to check it out. And The Woodruff book was on my list but never quite made it home with me. Anything by Erik Larson is good, too. Thunderstruck and Isaac’s Storm were really good, too. I was lucky enough to meet him last spring. He wouldn’t tell us what his next project would be, though. Bummer.
    Thank you for your list, Amy!

  3. Amy says:

    I am going to have to explore Thunderstruck and Issac’s Storm in 2008!

    A coworker introduced me to Syrup, and it was a fun and fast read!

    You are so lucky to have met Erik Larson!

Leave a Reply

